Cardiologists speaking to each other at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota.
Page Content


The Advanced Heart Failure and Transplant Cardiology Fellowship at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, is designed to provide intensive experience and training in the evaluation and treatment of patients with advanced heart failure.

As an Advanced Heart Failure and Cardiac Transplant fellow, you play an integral role in the management of a wide pathological spectrum of clinical heart failure, to include initial diagnostic evaluation, chronic management strategies, high-risk cardiac surgical and percutaneous interventions, cardiac transplantation, mechanical circulatory device therapy, and end-of-life care and management. This one-year program includes exposure to clinical research in the field of heart failure and cardiac transplantation.

Mayo Clinic has a long-standing tradition of practicing both the art and science of medicine. Physicians, scientists, residents, students, nurses, and allied health staff members work as a team at Mayo Clinic. Our staff clinicians and scientists are called consultants in recognition of their teaching and mentoring roles on the team.

Mayo Clinic's academic environment, favorable faculty ratio, large patient population, and state-of-the-art diagnostic, therapeutic, and research facilities combine to create a truly integrated and comprehensive educational experience. The "Mayo Clinic way" of graduate medical education ensures the finest teaching and the broadest patient care experience possible during a busy, hands-on fellowship.


The Advanced Heart Failure and Transplant Cardiology Fellowship at Mayo Clinic fulfills the training requirements as defined by the American Board of Internal Medicine. The program is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME).


As a graduate of the program, you are eligible to take the subspecialty Advanced Heart Failure and Transplant Cardiology Certification Exam offered by the American Board of Internal Medicine. With the addition of focused cardiac transplantation experience, to include observation of organ procurement, completion of this program meets the requirements for United Network for Organ Sharing (UNOS) certification as a heart transplant physician.

Program history

The Advanced Heart Failure and Transplant Cardiology Fellowship at Mayo Clinic began in 2012. We anticipate that two trainees will complete this program annually.

Mayo Clinic resident checking heartbeat of teen patient

Choosing Mayo Clinic

Mayo Clinic campus in Rochester, Minnesota.
Campus and community

Rochester, MN

Group of consultant, nurse, and residents discussing case in hallway at Mayo Clinic.

Stipend and benefits