Four critical care anesthesiologists consulting

Graduate medical education in anesthesiology at Mayo Clinic

Page Content


The Anesthesiology Critical Care Medicine Fellowship at Mayo Clinic's campus in Rochester, Minnesota, provides comprehensive training and support to develop physician leaders through many clinical, research, and educational experiences.

Our fellows thrive under the mentorship of international experts in an atmosphere that promotes scholarly activity, professional development, interdisciplinary collaboration, and a spirit of inquiry and creativity.

Unique program highlights include:

  • Working in one of the largest critical care departments in the world, with:
    • 100+ critical care-trained physicians
    • 50+ critical care-trained anesthesiologists
    • 11 sub-specialty ICUs
    • 150+ ECMO runs
    • 120+ heart and lung transplants
  • Multiple rotation options at Mayo Clinic in Jacksonville, Florida, Mayo Clinic in Phoenix/Scottsdale, Arizona, and the Maricopa Burn Center in Phoenix, Arizona
  • More scheduling flexibility and fewer night shifts than almost any other program
  • Incredible funding for every fellow to attend multiple medical conferences
  • Numerous state parks and tons of outdoor activities just minutes from the hospital
Fellowship overview video


Fellowship overview video

Fellows learning resuscitation by utilizing ultrasound at one of our workshops

Your training experience

As a fellow at Mayo Clinic, you'll have access to robust clinical, educational, and research resources. You'll find support both inside and outside of the campus to promote physical and mental wellness and ensure your work/life balance.

Ben Daxon, M.D.

Director's welcome

Welcome to the best 12 months of training in critical care. We don’t just train fellows in critical care; we develop physician leaders who will be at the forefront of our specialty going forward. Our goal is nothing less than to change the trajectory of your career.


The program fulfills the training requirements as defined by the American Board of Anesthesiology and is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME).


After completing this fellowship, you are eligible to take the certifying Critical Care Medicine (CCM) Examination offered by the American Board of Anesthesiology if you trained in an ACGME-accredited anesthesiology residency.

Program history

The Anesthesiology Critical Care Medicine Fellowship at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, began in 1976. We have trained fellows who work in a variety of practice environments and institutions all over the world. We anticipate that five trainees will complete the program each year.

More from Mayo Clinic School of Graduate Medical Education

Mayo Clinic resident checking heartbeat of teen patient

Choosing Mayo Clinic

Mayo Clinic campus in Rochester, Minnesota.
Campus and community

Rochester, MN

Group of consultant, nurse, and residents discussing case in hallway at Mayo Clinic.

Stipend and benefits