Transplant Hepatology faculty collaborating in the hallway at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota.
Page Content


The Transplant Hepatology Fellowship at Mayo Clinic's campus in Rochester, Minnesota, is the largest program of its kind in the country. This one-year fellowship offers you a thorough, advanced education in all aspects of hepatology.

The curriculum is carefully designed to provide a balance of transplant and nontransplant clinical, didactic, and investigative experience, and to prepare you for a career in academic hepatology. Most graduates are currently employed at academic medical centers.

The primary objective is to train superior physicians in the pathophysiological mechanisms, clinical manifestations, and management of liver disease. The usual duration of this fellowship is one year, but it may be extended for additional research experiences if funding is available.


The Transplant Hepatology Fellowship is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education.


This fellowship fulfills the requirements for training as stated by the American Board of Internal Medicine, and graduates meet eligibility requirements for transplant hepatology board certification.

Program history

The Transplant Hepatology Fellowship began at Mayo Clinic in 1991 as the Hepatology/Liver Transplant Fellowship and was renamed in 2007.

Since the program began, approximately three to four fellows complete this program annually.

Mayo Clinic resident checking heartbeat of teen patient

Choosing Mayo Clinic

Mayo Clinic campus in Rochester, Minnesota.
Campus and community

Rochester, MN

Group of consultant, nurse, and residents discussing case in hallway at Mayo Clinic.

Stipend and benefits