Page Content

Application Process


There are four positions available each year in the Vascular Surgery Advanced Aortic Fellowship. Each position is a three-month training experience.

Anticipated start dates for the positions are in January, April, July, and October.


To be eligible for the Vascular Surgery Advanced Aortic Fellowship, you must have recently completed an approved vascular surgery fellowship or vascular surgery residency (or equivalent) in the U.S. or internationally and desire advanced aortic training.

Due to U.S. visa regulations, we are unable at this time to sponsor J1 or H1B visas as we are only a three-month program.

Also see general admissions requirements.

How to apply

Mayo Clinic School of Graduate Medical Education does not process printed applications to this program. You must apply through Recruit, a third-party application service.

Mayo's academic year begins in July. You must submit a completed application form and all required documentation no later than six months prior to the position start date.

Complete the following steps to apply:

  1. Create an account to begin the online Application for Admission
  2. All applications to Mayo Clinic School of Graduate Medical Education programs must include these application materials
  3. After submission, view the required Supplemental Items and Documents
    • Upload each required item in the Supplemental Items section (if applicable)
    • Complete the Recommendation Request section (if applicable)

Applicants considered for an appointment will be invited to complete a phone interview with the program director and selected faculty.

Fees and expenses

There is a $5,000 fee for this three-month fellowship.

The trainee is responsible for expenses such as travel, housing, and health insurance. Mayo Clinic does not provide a stipend and benefits for this fellowship, but does provide malpractice insurance.

The advanced aortic fellow is required to have a valid Minnesota medical license at the start of the fellowship. The fellow is responsible for the cost of the Minnesota medical license.