Department and Faculty

The Advanced Heart Failure and Transplant Cardiology Fellowship is designed as a collaboration among the departments of Transplantation, Internal Medicine and Surgery.

  • Department of Transplantation. A unique department within Mayo Clinic that encompasses a total of more than 20 consultants in renal, gastroenterology, cardiology, pulmonology, critical care and surgery whose primary appointment is in transplantation and an additional four consultants with secondary appointments in the department. Find out more about Mayo Clinic Transplant Center.
  • Division of Cardiovascular Diseases, Department of Internal Medicine. More than a dozen consultants covering all aspects of cardiovascular medicine, including heart failure, electrophysiology, echocardiography, interventional cardiology, vascular medicine and nuclear cardiology. Find out more about the Division of Cardiovascular Diseases.
  • Division of Cardiothoracic Surgery, Department of Surgery. A total of four consultants participating in all aspects of general cardiac surgery, thoracic surgery, heart and lung transplantation, and mechanical circulatory support. Find out more about cardiothoracic surgery at Mayo Clinic.

As a fellow, you have direct exposure to most, if not all, of the consultants in these areas throughout your fellowship year.