Three neuroanesthesiologists work on a patient.

Graduate medical education in anesthesiology at Mayo Clinic

Page Content


Mayo Clinic offers a one-year fellowship training program in neuroanesthesiology at its campus in Rochester, Minnesota. This clinical fellowship has a great deal of flexibility to accommodate varied interests among fellows and is strongly rooted in Mayo's commitment to patient care, education, and research.

This is a highly specialized and individualized fellowship, as it accepts only one fellow each year. The primary goal of the Neuroanesthesiology Fellowship is to train outstanding specialists to become future leaders in the discipline of neuroanesthesiology.

As a fellow, you gain experience providing perioperative care for adult and pediatric patients having intracranial, spine, and peripheral nerve procedures. You also gain experience managing anesthesia for patients undergoing diagnostic and therapeutic procedures in the neuroradiology suite and providing care for critically ill patients in the Neurology/Neurosurgery Intensive Care Unit.


The Neuroanesthesiology Fellowship is currently a nonaccredited fellowship. The fellowship is open to physicians who have successfully completed an accredited residency training program in anesthesiology.


The Neuroanesthesiology Fellowship is considered subspecialty training in anesthesiology. After completing the 12-month program, you will receive a certificate of completion from Mayo Clinic School of Graduate Medical Education.

Also see:

Mayo Clinic resident checking heartbeat of teen patient

Choosing Mayo Clinic

Mayo Clinic campus in Rochester, Minnesota.
Campus and community

Rochester, MN

Group of consultant, nurse, and residents discussing case in hallway at Mayo Clinic.

Stipend and benefits