Mayo Clinic rheumatology fellow reviews results with a patient
Page Content


The three-year Rheumatology Fellowship at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, offers you an unmatched opportunity to become an accomplished rheumatologist. During the program, you learn and practice the fundamentals of rheumatology, and also have the opportunity to experience the depth and breadth of both clinical and investigative rheumatology.

As a trainee in the Rheumatology Fellowship, you have access to a broad and highly specialized training experience that includes:

  • A comprehensive clinical experience to evaluate and manage the full spectrum of rheumatic diseases
  • A robust didactic curriculum designed to teach clinical skills, basic science, immunology, radiology, and pathophysiology and management of all rheumatic diseases
  • A musculoskeletal ultrasonography curriculum intended to teach basic concepts and skills in ultrasound-guided arthrocentesis and soft tissue injections
  • The opportunity to take certificate and master's level classes through the Center for Clinical and Translational Science (CCaTS)
  • A 12- to 15-month research experience
  • The opportunity to participate in the Robert D. and Patricia E. Kern Center for the Science of Health Care Delivery
  • Elective opportunities in the hand clinic, spine center, sports medicine clinic, pain clinic, metabolic bone clinic, pediatric rheumatology clinic, combined cardiology-rheumatology clinic, and vasculitis clinic (with vascular medicine)
  • The opportunity to teach Mayo Clinic medical students and internal medicine residents

At Mayo Clinic, many accomplished and well-respected physicians and surgeons from the areas of rheumatology, physical medicine and rehabilitation, vascular medicine, nephrology, pulmonary, neurology, endocrinology, dermatology, radiology, and orthopedic surgery work together as a team to provide the best possible care to patients with rheumatic diseases. These world-class specialists use the most advanced diagnostic tools and therapies to ensure the best possible outcomes for patients.

Mayo Clinic's staff of approximately 18 rheumatologists serve as dedicated teachers and mentors. Their rich and diverse backgrounds form a vast diversity of clinical expertise and research opportunities.

Two rheumatology clinical fellowship positions are offered yearly in our three-year program. Internal medicine residents at Mayo Clinic who are accepted into the Clinician Investigator (CI) Program Tract also are accepted (one trainee a year).


The program fulfills the training requirements as defined by the American Board of Internal Medicine and is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME).


After successfully completing the program, you are eligible to take the subspecialty Rheumatology Certification Exam offered by the American Board of Internal Medicine.

Program history

The first Mayo Clinic rheumatologist was Philip S. Hench, M.D., who came to Mayo Clinic in 1923. In collaboration with Dr. Edward Kendall, endocrinologist at Mayo Clinic, Dr. Hench was awarded the Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine in 1950 for his role in the discovery and application of cortisone treatment in patients who had rheumatoid arthritis.

The Rheumatology Fellowship at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, began in 1953. Since then, more than 130 physicians have completed the training. More than half of our fellows have been accepted into academic positions following graduation. We anticipate that two trainees will complete this program annually.

Mayo Clinic resident checking heartbeat of teen patient

Choosing Mayo Clinic

Mayo Clinic campus in Rochester, Minnesota.
Campus and community

Rochester, MN

Group of consultant, nurse, and residents discussing case in hallway at Mayo Clinic.

Stipend and benefits