Surgical critical care doctors performing surgery

Graduate medical education in surgery specialties at Mayo Clinic

Page Content


The Surgical Critical Care Fellowship at Mayo Clinic's campus in Rochester, Minnesota, is a one-year program. During rotations in this fellowship, you gain experience managing critically ill surgical patients from all surgical subspecialties. The trauma and general surgical intensive care unit (ICU) is the core rotation and encompasses seven to nine months of the fellowship.

You also have rotations in the following areas:

  • Vascular and thoracic ICU
  • Cardiovascular surgical ICU

Additional elective rotations in nephrology ICU, pediatric ICU, transplant ICU, burn care, and echocardiography are available.

Your level of responsibility grows as the fellowship progresses. By the end of the year, you should be competent in managing the full range of problems encountered by surgical patients in an ICU. Throughout the fellowship, you learn from faculty how to manage patients, and you are mentored in the art of adult education.


The Surgical Critical Care Fellowship is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME).


After successfully completing the program, you are eligible to take the Surgical Critical Care Certifying Examination offered by the American Board of Surgery.

Program history

The Surgical Critical Care Fellowship at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, began in 1992 and became ACGME accredited in 1993. Since that time, more than 35 physicians have completed this fellowship. Two fellows are accepted into the program annually.

More from Mayo Clinic School of Graduate Medical Education

Mayo Clinic resident checking heartbeat of teen patient

Choosing Mayo Clinic

Mayo Clinic campus in Rochester, Minnesota.
Campus and community

Rochester, MN

Group of consultant, nurse, and residents discussing case in hallway at Mayo Clinic.

Stipend and benefits