Page Content

Application Process

Surgical critical care fellows perform a procedure


Two positions are available on a competitive basis each year in the Surgical Critical Care Fellowship at Mayo Clinic's campus in Rochester, Minnesota.


Applicants for the Surgical Critical Care Fellowship must have completed the fifth year of a general surgery residency. You are eligible to apply as a PGY-3 in a categorical position only if you have a guaranteed PGY-4 position to return to when you complete this fellowship.

For further information, see general admission requirements for Mayo Clinic School of Graduate Medical Education.

How to apply

The academic year begins Aug. 1.

You must apply through the Surgical Critical Care and Acute Care Surgery Fellowship Application Service (SAFAS), which is sponsored by the Surgical Critical Care Program Directors Society (SCCPDS).

  1. To apply to the program, visit the SAFAS website. Using SAFAS, applicants may complete one standardized application form, upload supporting documents, request letters of recommendation, and submit to multiple surgical critical care and acute care surgery fellowship programs online.
  2. All appointments are made through the Surgical Critical Care Match sponsored by the National Resident Matching Program (NRMP) Specialties Matching Service. All candidates must register through the Specialties Matching Service after applying through SAFAS.
  3. Applicants considered for an appointment will be invited to visit Mayo Clinic for a personal interview with the program director and selected faculty. Interviews are conducted between July and mid-September each year.